Simple serial communication - need a guide to automate it

Hello,

I am a beginner. I have spent some time trying to read up on my goals. I'm attempting to communicate with a device using the TX and RX pins with limited success. I have read many serial communication tutorials. They mention similar things involving the serial monitor, but I cannot find any that help me to communicate with my device automatically.

The device: A PWM frequency generator with TXD and RXD pins. "XY-LPWM LCD signal generation module"
The product page has this,

...the serial port control (one-chip computer TTL level communication)

Communication Standard : 9600 bps Data Bits : 8
Stop Bits : 1
Parity : none
Flow Control : none

1, set the frequency of PWM

"F101": Setting frequency is 101 HZ (001 ~ 999)

"F1.05": Setting frequency is 1.05 KHZ (1.00 ~ 9.99)

" F10.5 ": Setting frequency is 10.5KHZ (10.0 ~ 99.9)

"F1.0.5": Setting frequency is 105KHZ (1.0.0 ~ 1.5.0)

2, set the duty cycle of PWM

"DXXX": set the duty cycle of PWM to XXX ; (001 ~ 100)

For example, D050 , set the PWM duty cycle is 50%

3, read the setting parameters

Send " read " string, read the set parameters.

Set successfully returned: DOWN ;

Setting failed to return: FALL .

I hooked up the device to an Arduino Nano clone. I used an empty sketch with a simple "Serial.begin(9600);". With this sketch I am able to type in appropriate commands into the serial monitor and it works, as described in the quote above section 1 and 2.

What I want to do is have Arduino send those commands automatically and be able to "read" as in section 3. I can do neither.

Regarding, sending the instructions of the form Dxxx and Fxx.x to the Arduino, I have tried code like this from reading many examples,

int incomingByte = 0;   // for incoming serial data

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop() {

//Attemps to send serial data

Serial.println("D010");
  Serial.println('D010');
  Serial.write('D010');
  Serial.write("D010");