Sine wave generator with variable frequency

Right now, I'm thinking of making my own simplified version of an Ondes Martenot, but with only the ring. I haven't built it yet, but my idea is to have the ring on a wire on a pulley, which moves a potentiometer, which is connected to an Arduino. I would connect it to my computer via USB, and put in the code to generate a sine wave that has variable frequency (preferably with adjustable range) controlled using a 10k potentiometer (Or whichever kind I need). Once the sine wave is generated, it would go through a digital-to-analog converter (I don't know where to get one, any links would be appreciated), then to a 1/4 ts out so I can connect it to a pedalboard and record.

I am completely new to Arduino and fairly new to circuits (I don't know what to connect what to what), and know absolutely nothing about programming. This is only a concept right now, and I don't know how to put this all together. Any detailed information simple to understand for a beginner would be amazing.

If this isn't possible, that's fine too, I'll look for a different solution.

Time to begin experimenting with the basics and get the knowledge you are missing.

Paul

A DAC:

An interesting idea that can be implemented in quite a simple way. Your idea of the ring driving a pot (I'd use a ten turn pot) is good, and you can easily find examples to read in an analog value.

Generating a sine wave is more challenging - and a sine wave is a very boring sound - so why not start by generating a square wave, with a delay controlled by millis() as in the blink without delay sketch?
A square wave sounds harsh but a simple RC filter can reduce the harmonics.

Another idea for controlling the sound could be to use a mouse, which provides:
2 dimensions - eg pitch and volume
buttons to turn the sound on and off.

I'm looking into this.

Ondes Martenot

I don't know what that is, but that's OK...