small electric car for the kids

i have much time available. and i thought a good project would be making an Arduino go kart / electric car for the kids. i was hoping for something that would run at around 15 - 20 mph and hold a couple kids or an adult. I have no experience with larger electric motors. I am looking at probably two large lead acid 12 volt batteries for a power supply. probobly car batteries or some something similar. maybe three if necessary? i am looking at a 48v 1800w motor here is an ebay link :

is this overkill? what sized motor is going to give the most profficiency with two 12 volt batteries ?
i would rather purchase bigger than be dissapointed and have to buy another. there is also 36 volt motors closer to my supply voltage. considering i would like to use a 24 volt supply, would a larger rated motor be slower than the smaller? any advise would be much appreciated. I have no expireice with any of this besides smaller arduino and programming stuff

That motor is designed for 48 volts. Are you going to be running 48 volts?

I have worked on many Razor electric minibikes using motors just like that. 4 Sealed Lead Acid (SLA) batteries are going to run $120 or so before shipping. I drove to the warehouse and picked mine up. apparently shipping lead is expensive.

Where does the arduino fit in this project?

taterking:
i have much time available. and i thought a good project would be making an Arduino go kart / electric car for the kids. i was hoping for something that would run at around 15 - 20 mph and hold a couple kids or an adult. I have no experience with larger electric motors. I am looking at probably two large lead acid 12 volt batteries for a power supply. probobly car batteries or some something similar. maybe three if necessary? i am looking at a 48v 1800w motor here is an ebay link :