Solar panel and battery

Hi all, I have to make a little project for my studies, since I'm very new in this world I'm in search of any help that you can give me! I want to make circuit where a a solar panel, connected to a charge controller and a battery, could feed a load. If the output of the panel is not enough, I want to use arduino for set-up a switch between the solar panel and another source like AA batteries. After all this, I want to use a raspberry PI, or the YUN version, for make a web page for reporting all the data that I get in the circuit. Since all the circuit is in DC i thought that i could use hall effect sensors for getting data. I'm not sure about the switch, and I don't know how can I handle the charge controller. I'm at the beginning of the work, if someone could help me out in any way that would be great ;D

A solar controller's job is to pretty much switch between solar and battery back up... There is no real extra needed in this as far as I can see?

The measuring of voltage is easy enough with a divider and using the analog pins of the arduino.

The analog pins can take a max of 5V...without knowing the batteries or panel you are using, can not give a divider resistance values.

As you refer to AA batteries, I assume the load is very light?

Weedpharma

If the Solar panel is small enough, and you use AA Nimh batteries, then no charge controller is even needed. Just connect the solar panel to the battery via a diode to block reverse current when there is no sun.

mauried: Just connect the solar panel to the battery via a diode to block reverse current when there is no sun.

And if you get the Arduino to measure the voltage on both sides of the diode it can tell if the solar panel is feeding the battery.

Some sort of voltage regulator might be needed to protect whetever is using the electricity from a very high solar panel voltage.

...R

Thanks to everyone for the answers, I’m close to complete the project.