[SOLVED] 433 MHz RF module receiver code?

Hi,

I’m trying to learn RF modules with Arduino.I have bought these cheap 433 MHz RF modules from ebay and they work perfectly with my 2 x Arduino nano clones using the provided example scripts from the VirtualWire library.

But now I want to transmit a simple ‘Byte’ number with TX module and receive it on my RX module and also print it on the serial monitor.

I modified the transmit example code to include my Byte number “99” and successfully verified it and uploaded it to TX Arduino without any errors.

However my problem is that I don’t know how to receive it and print it. I’m posting my transmit code below. I’m a total noob so any help would be appreciated.

#include <VirtualWire.h>

const int led_pin = 13;
const int transmit_pin = 12;
const int receive_pin = 2;
const int transmit_en_pin = 3;

void setup()
{
    // Initialise the IO and ISR
    vw_set_tx_pin(transmit_pin);
    vw_set_ptt_pin(transmit_en_pin);
    vw_set_ptt_inverted(true); // Required for DR3100
    vw_setup(2000);       // Bits per sec
    pinMode(led_pin, OUTPUT);
    Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop()
{
  byte x = 69;
  digitalWrite(led_pin, HIGH); // Flash a light to show transmitting
  vw_send((byte *)x, 2 );
  vw_wait_tx(); // Wait until the whole message is gone
  Serial.print(x);
  Serial.println();
  digitalWrite(led_pin, LOW);
  delay(1000);
}

any idea?

You seem to be sending 2 bytes instead of 1

(vw_send((byte *)x, 2 );

I haven't used the VirualWire library, so can't help with code, but perhaps a good starting point would be the "Receive" example.

Have you tried running the "Transmit" and "Receive" examples as typed in the documentation, without modifying them first?

Something I noticed in your code:-

byte x = 69;
 vw_send((byte *)x, 2 );

Casting x to a byte* won't work. You need to pass the address of x. Also, you indicate 2 bytes are being sent, when x is only one byte. Try this instead:-

byte x = 69;
 vw_send(&x, 1 );