[solved] fatal error: util/atomic.h: No such file or directory

So basically I'm trying to have a nodeMCU connect to an RF receiver and make it receive a signal from a transmitter connected to an arduino. When I try to compile, I get the above error. I've just copied the code from RadioHead: ask_receiver.pde Any suggestions?
P.S. I'm a huge noob and I'm really new to the arduino ecosystem so please be patient if possible. Thanks!

RF_module.ino (818 Bytes)

The version of the RH_ASK you are using is incompatible with either ESP8266 in general, or the version of the ESP8266 core you're using.

That sketch compiles without error for me:
Arduino IDE 1.8.9
2.5.2 of the ESP8266 Community core, installed via Board Manager

I tried boards "NodeMCU 0.9 (ESP-12 Module)" and "NodeMCU 1.0 (ESP-12E Module)"

johnwasser:
Arduino IDE 1.8.9

Which version of radiohead?

Could be either the version of the core or the version of radiohead library.

DrAzzy:
Which version of radiohead?

Could be either the version of the core or the version of radiohead library.

My copy of RadioHead.h says "// $Id: RadioHead.h,v 1.71 2018/05/06 22:23:51 mikem Exp mikem $"

The latest seems to be: // $Id: RadioHead.h,v 1.76 2019/07/14 00:18:48 mikem Exp

johnwasser:
Arduino IDE 1.8.9

When I flash my NodeMCU I have to use Generic ESP8266 board for some reason but I've tried using NodeMCU 0.9 (ESP-12 Module)" and "NodeMCU 1.0 (ESP-12E Module) both, but it still gives me the same error.

johnwasser:
My copy of RadioHead.h says "// $Id: RadioHead.h,v 1.71 2018/05/06 22:23:51 mikem Exp mikem $"

The latest seems to be: // $Id: RadioHead.h,v 1.76 2019/07/14 00:18:48 mikem Exp

So I tried updating my RadioHead library. I deleted the old library and on attempting to install the new one, the system tells me, "A library named RadioHead already exists". I think I might have to uninstall Arduino and then re-install it, so I'll do that.