[solved]Problems with I2C LCD Display and ATtiny 84/85

Hello guys !

I am using:
Linux Mint 18.3 with Arduino IDE 1.8.5
I2C HD44780 LCD Display 16x2

I have some weird experiences and problems with my I2C LCD Displays I bought some time ago. I first started using it with the Arduino Uno and with the LiquidCrystal_I2C library. That worked like a charm and I continued and moved to the ATtiny 85. After some searching I found a library called LiquidCrystal_ATtiny and with that one it also worked for me, I was able to display everything with my I2C LCD Display. However a few weeks passed and I decided to enlarge the project and I needed a ATtiny 84 (because of more I/O pins). I used the same library as with the ATtiny85 but it now only shows me the first character of my string. So when printing "Hello World" it just shows "H". I moved back to the ATtiny 85 but now I have the same problem here, only dispalying the first characters of the string, even though it worked a few weeks ago. However I tried using different librarys, different ATtinys (as I hav a few) and also different displays but none worked, always the same error. Only moving back to the Uno and using the LiquidCrystal_I2C works. I cant find the problem, I even tried modifying the LiquidCrystal_I2C library to make it work with ATtinys but that was also a dead end :slightly_frowning_face:

This is what I added to the LiquidCrystal_I2C at begining

#if defined(AVR_ATtiny84) || (AVR_ATtiny2313) || defined (AVR_ATtiny85)
#include "TinyWireM.h" // include this if ATtiny84 or ATtiny85 or ATtiny2313
#define Wire TinyWireM
#else
#include "Wire.h" // original lib include
#endif

But I cant compile for ATtinys either with that modification.

And this is my simple code that worked a few weeks ago on the tiny85 and now doesnt:
#include <TinyWireM.h>
#include <LiquidCrystal_attiny.h>

LiquidCrystal_I2C lcd(0x3f, 16, 2);

void setup()
{
// initialize the LCD
lcd.init();

// Turn on the blacklight and print a message.