[SOLVED] SPDT Relay not Switching

Hi Guys,

Hoping to get your help, I am new to Arduino, but I think it’s a fairly simple circuit. My relay just isn’t switching. I have replaced it with a separate relay, but same issue.

I’ve attached a Paint diagram of what I have currently.

Arduino Mega 2560 plugged into laptop via USB 2.0.

I have a 5V relay: https://www.jaycar.com.au/medias/sys_master/images/images/9376082755614/XC4419-dataSheetMain.pdf

I have a 5V usb wall wart (old phone charger with repurposed USB-A to USB-C charging cable). This is connected on an NC circuit of the relay with an LED.

The LED is lit (as expected).

However, when my Arduino sends the signal on pin 8 to the relay, the LED remains lit. The relay’s ‘ON’ LED is on during this time, so it definitely receives the signal.

Arduino switches pin 8 HIGH/LOW on 10s intervals, so it’s not switching too quickly to not notice the LED lose power.

Any advice would be much appreciated - I’m truly baffled.

SoapyRice

Have you double-checked your relay is actually a 5V one? (ie, does the blue cube actually say 5V where I indicated?)

songle 5v.PNG

songle 5v.PNG

Disconnect the Arduino from the relay and feed 5V to the relay control input. Does the relay turn on/off as you connect/disconnect it ?

Note that many relay modules are active LOW, ie they turn on when their control input is connected to GND

Please provide a link to the relay module being used ?

homelock_shers:
Have you double-checked your relay is actually a 5V one? (ie, does the blue cube actually say 5V where I indicated?)

songle 5v.PNG

Yep, double checked - exact same.

UKHeliBob:
Disconnect the Arduino from the relay and feed 5V to the relay control input. Does the relay turn on/off as you connect/disconnect it ?

Note that many relay modules are active LOW, ie they turn on when their control input is connected to GND

Please provide a link to the relay module being used ?