[SOLVED] Startup help please. Reading serial data from a pin.

Hello,

I'm a Arduino Yun newbie, building a project to read data from a 433 mHz unit.
A shield has been build that picks up the data from the air and delivers it to digital pin 2.
This pin has been chosen for it being an interrupt pin. I'm free to use an other pin if that would be better.

The shield has been tested by reading data on a PC and is working okay.
(Data comes in on 4800 bps, E, 1)

I'm looking for a usable sample code to boot be in the right direction please.
Can anybody help me by directing me to some sample code I can use to learn?

Thanks in advance.

Rens

Have a look at Software Serial,

Rob

VirtualWire is what you need and it has no need for a shield just connect your Rx to the arduino.

Or maybe you should tells more about the shield you have constructed.

Mark

holmes4:
Maybe you should tells more about the shield you have constructed.

The shield is just a very simple 433 mHz receiver that is used in am other device for some years now. It does it's job very good and has proven to be stable. I have checked the data on a terminal and it is okay. Now, the data out has been connected to D2 on the Arduino. That's about all. :slight_smile:

The shield is just a very simple 433 mHz receiver

I doubt very much that it is. :wink:

You doubt it is simple? :relaxed:

No, I doubt it is 433mHz. :wink:

AWOL:
No, I doubt it is 433mHz. :wink:

O..... Okay.........
First: It does not affect the working of the setup.
Data is coming in at 4800 Bps, E, 1, no matter what the source is.
It could even be a lady behind a old fashion teletype sending data.
:slight_smile:

Second: Why do you doubt the 433 mHz?
What am I missing or saying wrong in your opinion?
:cold_sweat:

Third: The only reason I call it a 'Shield', is because it snaps onto the Arduino.
It would work just as easy it it would be placed next to the Arduini and just has GND and the data out connected to the Arduino.