Speed of motor with arduino and encoder

Ehi there! ArduiNoob here.

I am trying to read the speed of a motor using an Arduino Uno and a quadrature encoder.

I have tried several ways but the easiest I found was to use an interrupt to have a counter+ when the A pulse of the encoder rises (I forget about the B for now).
In order to get a time difference, I allow interrupts and then stop them after counter = e.g. 300 and calculate speed.

This seems to work but only if the calculation is done averaging many pulses. For counter = 300 the speed seems stable while for counter = 30 the speed goes up and down (attached screenshot).
I think it comes from the fact that I am using a “software” counter instead of a “hardware” counter.
I have heard this could be done using the Uno using some kind of register counter but I have zero experience and I have not been able even to read the codes I found that use the registers…

I was wondering if anyone has a quick solution or could give me guidance on where to start learning to get to the bottom of this. Or maybe some of you see that this is not doable with an Arduino…

Thanks in advance!
Lorenzo

Please refer to the code below.

More info:
speed of motor ~0.5 round per second
direction: only one way
encoder res: 12500ppr

#define outA 2 //A+ 

float vel = 0;
  volatile long counter = 0;
  unsigned long staT = 0;
  unsigned long stoT = 0;

void setup() {
//define pins 
  pinMode(outA, INPUT_PULLUP);  

//set serial communication speed
  Serial.begin(9600);

// encoder A channel on interrupt 0 (Arduino's pin 2)
  attachInterrupt(0, doEncoderA, RISING);

}

void loop() {
  staT = 0;
  stoT = 0;
  counter = 0;

interrupts();  //allow interrupts
staT = micros(); //start counter

while (counter < 100) { //loop until 
stoT = micros();
}
  noInterrupts(); //no more interrupts

//calculate velocity
float vel = counter*1000000/(stoT-staT);

Serial.println(vel);
}

void doEncoderA()
{

counter = counter+1;

}