SPI transfer on board UNO : send M bytes then receive N bytes ?

Hi everybody,

I'm having a question as a newbie on Arduino programming: I have a UNO acting as SPI Master that must send a message of 4 bytes to DSPIC microcontroller to request some information. Then DSPIC will respond by a message of 12 bytes.

I have taken a look in the SPI.transfer() https://www.arduino.cc/en/Reference/SPITransfer and I can't imagine how to do this task properly. I guess that SPI.transfer(buffer,size) may work but I'm not sure if that can do the transfer for both directions. For example:

• to send request: SPI.transfer(request,4)
  • to receive : SPI.transfer(result,12)
    The goal is to read properly the 12 bytes result that are sent by DSPIC.

Hope that anyone can give me an advice. Thank you in advance.

A few more details on my implementation: I have only 3 more pins available on DSPic and I allocated them for SCK, SDI, SDO, then connected them respectively to SCK, MOSI, MISO of Arduino UNO board (as I need to transfer on both direction, hope that's correct ?!) :o

hoangphithuong:
For example:

• to send request: SPI.transfer(request,4)
  • to receive : SPI.transfer(result,12)

SPI always sends and receives at the same time. The 'transfer' where you use an array and a length replaces each byte being sent with the corresponding received byte.
When you send 'request' you should be aware that whatever was in the array will be replaced with whatever the other end sends when it has no data to send (typically zeroes). If you try to send that array again you will probably be sending zeroes. Re-fill the 'request' array before each send.
When you receive 'result', whatever values were in the array will be sent out. You should probably set the array contents to zeroes before you do the receive. Note: The datasheet for the device might say what dummy values to send when receiving data. If it does specify, use that value instead of zero.