start stop code

Hello,
I am new to arduino and trying to learn by starting with the basics. I am using 2 normally open pushbuttons and the onboard led. What I want to do is turn on the led and keep it on when button1 is pushed. Then when button2 is pushed it will turn the led off. I know it sounds simple but i can't figure it out. any help would be appreciated. Here is my code thus far:

const int buttonPin = 2;
const int buttonPin2 = 3;
const int ledPin = 13;

int buttonState = 0;
int buttonState2 = 0;
int ledState = 0;
void setup() {
pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);
pinMode(buttonPin, INPUT);
pinMode(buttonPin2, INPUT);
}

void loop() {
buttonState = digitalRead(buttonPin);

if (buttonState == HIGH) {
digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH);

ledState = digitalRead(ledPin);
if (ledState == HIGH);
do digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH);
while (buttonState2 == LOW);
buttonState2 = digitalRead(buttonPin2);
if (buttonState2 == HIGH);
do digitalWrite(ledPin, LOW);
while (buttonState == LOW);
digitalWrite(ledPin, LOW);

}
}

ledState = digitalRead(ledPin);
 if (ledState == HIGH)[glow];[/glow]

You've just written the pin high - what is going to change its state?

OK i have removed it and now the led will not stay on after i have released buttonPin1. What now?

void loop() {
buttonState = digitalRead(buttonPin);
if (buttonState == HIGH) {
digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH);}
buttonState2 = digitalRead(buttonPin2);
if (buttonState2 == HIGH);{
digitalWrite(ledPin, LOW);}

if (buttonState2 == HIGH)[glow];[/glow]{
 do  digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH);

The pin value needs to be set only once. Then, it will stay that way. It does not need constant reminding to stay HIGH.

In this loop, buttonState2 can not change, so the loop will never end.

now the led turns on without pushing button 1

const int buttonPin = 2;
const int buttonPin2 = 3;
const int ledPin = 13;

int buttonState = 0;
int buttonState2 = 0;
int ledState = 0;
void setup() {
pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);
pinMode(buttonPin, INPUT);
pinMode(buttonPin2, INPUT);
}