Steering wheel controls as input to Arduino?

I am a complete novice when it comes to the Arduino but I do have an electronics background. On to my project... I have a Pontiac Grand Prix with steering wheel mounted radio controls and this past Christmas I was given an iPod touch. Now I want to mate the two together. The steering wheel controls are a resistance based input circuit that feeds into the back of the radio. Apologies for the bad image, I can upload a better one this evening.

I'm not exactly sure what would be sent to the radio but I'm assuming it detects a voltage level based on which circuit is completed by the series resistors.

Does the Arduino have a built in method to detect something like this or would I need a go between to interpret the voltage level and then feed that as serial data to the Arduino? I found some similar requests around but not the complete info I was looking for.

I basically want to pull out just the next and previous track button pushes which I know I'll need to then send out of the Arduino as serial communication to the iPod. For now I just want to see if I can get the input to work before wasting my time on the output.

Thank you for any help!

Here is the image:

Hi

You can use this: http://www.instructables.com/id/How-to-access-5-buttons-through-1-Arduino-input/ And use the T1 of the car wiring to the arduino analog pin, but you will need to change the voltage to the buttons, from 12v to 5 volt, or maybe add a resistor to between T1 and the arduino analog pin, so you dont get a voltage thats to high for the arduino to handle.

Best Regards

or maybe add a resistor to between T1 and the arduino analog pin, so you dont get a voltage thats to high for the arduino to handle.

Shouldn't that be "a resistor between T1 and ground, to act as a voltage divider to bring the voltage down to a 5V level for the Arduino"?