const int stepPin = 3; 
const int dirPin = 4; 

void setup() {
  // Sets the two pins as Outputs
  pinMode(stepPin,OUTPUT); 
  pinMode(dirPin,OUTPUT);
}
void loop() {
  digitalWrite(dirPin,HIGH); // Enables the motor to move in a particular direction
  // Makes 200 pulses for making one full cycle rotation
  for(int x = 0; x < 200; x++) {
    digitalWrite(stepPin,HIGH); 
    delayMicroseconds(500); 
    digitalWrite(stepPin,LOW); 
    delayMicroseconds(500); 
  }
  delay(1000); // One second delay

digitalWrite(dirPin,LOW); //Changes the rotations direction
  // Makes 400 pulses for making two full cycle rotation
  for(int x = 0; x < 400; x++) {
    digitalWrite(stepPin,HIGH);
    delayMicroseconds(500);
    digitalWrite(stepPin,LOW);
    delayMicroseconds(500);
  }
  delay(1000);
}

This is my first time doing anything Arduino, and I’m not too good with electronics so please bare with me. I did not go into the “current limiting” section of his tutorial. Here is a list of the components I used:

12 v adaptor: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01GD4ZQRS/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

stepper motor: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00PNEQI7W/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o03_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

driver: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01FFGAKK8/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o03_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

After I upload the code, the stepper motor might do nothing or it might make random whining and beeping noises depending on the position of the little screw on the driver( i think thats a potentiometer?). There is one time when I uploaded the code the motor appeared to be working. It spun 1 full rotation, paused for a second, spun again, and repeat. But it only spun in one direction, while the code makes it spin one way and then back the other. Then after I screwed the little screw on the driver, I couldnt get it to fully rotate again, just a few degrees in one direction. Please help, thank you in advance.