Storing Code on an I2C EEPROM

Greetings all!

I have recently been experimenting with different Arduino projects. I have been playing with NeoPixels, shift registers, LED matrices, and I2C EEPROMs. All fun stuff! :slight_smile:

I may be new to the Arduino platform, but I have been tinkering with electronics since I was little and I am a retired computer programmer. I am learning the limits and strengths of micro controllers (ATMegas and ATTinys). Wish I had this stuff when I was a kid! LOL But I digress!

I was just thinking about using an EEPROM to store some data to transfer to a matrix or a color sequence for an array of NeoPixels and I understand how to store and retrieve data from one of these little gems.

What I wanted to know is this: Can I store executable code on the EEPROM and load it into my Arduino then call it as a function?

I believe that there is no way to directly execute code that could be stored on an external EEPROM nor is there a way to do that on the internal EEPROM. But is there a way to load that code from the external EEPROM into the code space of the micro controller and call it?

I was thinking that the use for this might be creating a module you could plug in and any special functions could be stored on the module then transferred into the micro controller’s flash and do its thing. Or store an animation routine with data on a replaceable EEPROM that you can swap out without having to reprogram the main controller when you want to change it.

Anyway thanks for the input in advance.

Don

Can I store executable code on the EEPROM and load it into my Arduino then call it as a function?

Do you feel ready to write your own boot loader?