string concatenation does not work

Hi,

I just started playing around with Arduino and here is what I have, when trying to concatenate some strings...

#define ARD_LABEL  111  // unique id 

void setup() {

unique_id = "Id_"+ARD_LABEL; 

Serial.println("Unique Label is : " + unique_id);

delay(500);

}

The serial.println prints garbage, not what I expect. In fact in print another log message (have of it) that I have later in my code.

Unique Label is : tering a new user...

when the tering a new user... is the "garbage"

What am I missing?

It looks like some of your code is missing.

ignch90:
What am I missing?

Some of your code is missing. This snippet won't compile.

I'll recommend that you show us a complete sketch that illustrates the problem. If you want people to look at the sketch and recommend solutions, you'd be well advised to post a short, minimal sketch that demonstrates the problem that you're trying to solve. If you post a long and complicated sketch, a lot of readers will decline to look at it, and will move on to the next post.

To illustrate the importance of posting a complete sketch, note that we can't tell what kind of object unique_id is. It could be a character pointer, or maybe a String. We need to see its declaration to know what it is.

This is the code snippet you need… Anything after that does not affect the program. Anyway, since you mentioned that here is the complete code, but I doubt it makes any difference.

#include <Bridge.h>
#include <Parse.h>

#define ARD_LABEL  111  // unique id for this board

String unique_id ;

void setup() {

// Initialize digital pin 13 as an output.
pinMode(13, OUTPUT);

// Initialize Bridge
Bridge.begin();

// Initialize Serial
Serial.begin(9600);

while (!Serial); // wait for a serial connection
Serial.println("Parse Starter Project");

// String for unique_id

delay(500);

}

void loop() {
      Serial.println("Looping...");
      delay(2000);
}