String is a piece of TRASH!! Guidelines to replace it at existing code?

I was not aware about how dangerous is the usage of String at an Arduino project. Also, I do not know why the Arduino's developers allow the usage of such a piece of trash that String is. As my project evolved, a strange behavior starts to happen and now I discovered why (see http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,55502.0.html).

I am not a professional developer, but I just want to use the most "rapid" way to achieve my goals without sacrificing functionality. I do not care about how good a program is in terms of performance and usage of memory if it WORKS and never breaks!! For instance, if my program A was developed in 2 days and uses 50% more memory that other program B, which was developed in 3 days, my preference is A. However, this is only true if the code never crashes for what it is being applied.

Therefore, I would like to ask about a small piece of code that WORKS and (hopefully) is not very complicated to replace all the current String references at my code. I believe there are many ways to do it, especially with the use of array of chars. However, I would like to have the methods summarized here to help me and others to eliminate the use of String at Arduino platform until someone solves the problem.

Thanks!!

Therefore, I would like to ask about a small piece of code that WORKS and (hopefully) is not very complicated to replace all the current String references at my code.

Ask away, but until we can actually see your code, we can't really sensibly answer.

What String functions are you using, and why are you so negative about the String class?