Stuck with rain sensor activating motor for one cycle.

Hi Guys,

As many others on here i am new to Arduino, have done a few small projects and now trying to do a rain sensing clothesline. and stuck on the code

Once the analog rain sensor reads that the value is below 400 i would like the led to come on and the motor to lower once.

And then once dried up and back past analog reading of 400 i would like the motor to raise the frame.

I have been trying to figure this out and seem to be stuck.

it works for one cycle but then will not change state’s back again to reset the cycle.

If anyone could help what i am doing wrong would be very greatly appreciated.

#include<AFMotor.h>
AF_DCMotor motor1(1);

const int analogPin = A8;    // pin that the sensor is attached to
const int ledPin = 11;       // pin that the LED is attached to
int threshold = 400;   // threshold to decide raining vs not raining
int lastValue,newValue;

void setup()  
{
  pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);
  Serial.begin(9600);
  motor1.setSpeed(250);
}

void loop() {

int analogValue = analogRead(analogPin); // read the value of the Rain Sensor:

newValue=analogRead(analogPin);
  if (newValue-lastValue > threshold)  
  {
    Raise();
  } 

if (lastValue-newValue > threshold)
  {
    Lower();
  }

// print the analog value:
  Serial.println(analogValue);
  delay(2000);        // delay in between reads for stability
}

void Raise(){
  motor1.run(FORWARD);
    delay(1500);
    motor1.run(RELEASE);
    delay(1000);
    digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH);
    Serial.println(newValue);
    lastValue=newValue;
}

void Lower(){ 
  motor1.run(BACKWARD);
    delay(1500);
    motor1.run(RELEASE);
    delay(1000);
    digitalWrite(ledPin, LOW);
    Serial.println(newValue);
    lastValue=newValue;
}

Perhaps I just don't understand your sensor but shouldn't you be performing the action based just on the current value? Why do you need all the lastValue-newValue newValue-lastValue stuff?