Super Noob needs help with basic code.

Hey all, thanks for taking the time to have a look at this.

I have never done anything like this before and I cant seem to find a dumb-ed down enough explanation of code for me to get an understanding of things with.

This is on the Arduino site:

setup()

The setup() function is called when a sketch starts. Use it to initialize variables, pin modes, start using libraries, etc. The setup function will only run once, after each powerup or reset of the Arduino board.

Example

int buttonPin = 3;

void setup() { Serial.begin(9600); pinMode(buttonPin, INPUT); }

void loop() { // ... }

Fist off it talks about what the setup() is and then the loop() is, but never anywhere I've searched is there anything on what the VOID part means or why its there??

If everything after the setup() sets the basic parameters of what the loop() needs to run then why is int buttonPin = 3; above the setup() line?

Also why are there a () after the word setup and loop??

one last thing. Does anyone know of a good place to go to find an understanding of the structure of the code. Just how do i assemble things??

Thanks for the help !!!!

Cheers, Brant

setup and loop are names of functions. Some functions can return a value. The type of value that the function can return precedes the name of the function when it is defined. If the function does not return a value, as setup and loop do not, the function return type is void.

Following the name of the function is a list of arguments to the function, in parentheses. If the function takes no arguments, as setup and loop do not, the parentheses are still required.