syntax of "micros" vs "micros()"

I am new to coding in C and using the Arduino so this may be covered somewhere that the search failed to find.

While debugging a sketch using a bunch of timers to collect enough data to even analyze my issue I noticed that I had accidentally left the parentheses off of a micros() statement and it seemed to have compiled without complaint. I tried it both ways and there seemed to be no difference. The IDE recognizes "micros" and makes the text red so maybe at that point the compiler doesn't care whether you add the () or not since there is no parameter involved. But it did seem a little strange to not get a compile error for a statement that diverges from the specified syntax.

micros is the address of the function micros(). Functions always have () even if no parameters.

IDE recognising the name is not important as it is just matching names - there is no intelligence there. The compiler will allow this, however, as it is valid syntax - that is more important.

DocDough: The IDE recognizes "micros" and makes the text red so maybe at that point the compiler doesn't care

The colour changing is just a feature of the editor in the IDE. The complier is a seperate process to the editor that is only run when you ask it to, it pays no attention to the colours.

You can usually find the referance page for a command by doing a Google search on the command;

'Arduino reference micros'

Try the example there, it produces an error when the () is missing from micros.

When I tried the sample code with "micros" instead of "micros()", it compiled and ran without error.

Yes it will compile because it is valid syntax. But it doesn’t do anything useful. Without the parens you just get the memory address of the micros function. It doesn’t give you the microsecond count like it does with the parens.

I didn't notice that and it makes a difference, and that may be one reason why my timing analysis of the errant sketch was making me nuts.