That problem with strange characters again...

Hello all

I'm relatively new to all the Arduino programming, but managed to get pretty much everything I needed to do, done. However, this LCD thing is doing my head in.

I've connected an LCD (SparkFun ADM1602k, 16x2) and it works fine, backlight, contrast etc. However, when I send some .print() to it, it fails and gives me incomprehensible garbage. I knew there was some information we could get from these scrambles so I added a picture to the thread for your perusal.

I've taken a look at the wires, I even re-soldered to make sure the structure of each pin was sufficient. Not so sure about the jump wires (this isn't going through a bread board). All wired up as per the Arduino tutorial on their website (and no, I didn't accidentally read the thing upside down).

Any help or advice from you experts is welcomed - I'm a total noob!

All the very best.

IMG_2817.JPG

IMG_2818.JPG

Hi and welcome.

1e9560d4982d080f4032024e1138648d03ef8346.jpg
e09fde4d63e6fb85a109038f66acd89d5389ad6f.jpg

Please take a photo of the wiring (tidy up first so that the wires can be followed and people can see where each one goes).
Show the picture(s) here.

Thanks. As it's wired straight into my board it's hard to 'tidy up' but I've done my best. You can make out what's wired where. I should also point out that this is a RasPiO Duino board but it's Arduino-based and has all the relevant libraries as it only runs on Arduino.

• Pin 3 goes off to a potentiometer (10K1 I think) which is 5V and GND on outside legs.

I should also point out this is wired up based on the fundamental requirements for most LCDs which should be enough, but isn't!

Hope this helps. I appreciate your time.

stormdart:

Thanks Paul

I can confirm the scrambled text isn't random, so its not QUITE as bad?
See Data Sheets and what not...

Thanks again everyone, you are great.

I can confirm the scrambled text isn't random, so its not QUITE as bad?