TLC5615 D/A converter-problems with code....

Fellas,

This is my first time posting here. I am excited to become part of this unique online community. I am attempting to use a recently purchased TLC5615 breakout board with an arduino UNO. I am getting an error message when uploading saying ‘data’ was not declared in this scope. Here is the code I am attempting to upload:

#define CS 2 //chip enable
#define CLOCK 3
#define DATA 4

#define HALF_CLOCK_PERIOD 2 //2 uS of clock period
float j=0;
void setup()
{
pinMode(DATA, OUTPUT);
pinMode(CLOCK,OUTPUT);
pinMode(CS,OUTPUT);
digitalWrite(CS,HIGH);
digitalWrite(DATA,LOW);
digitalWrite(CLOCK,LOW);
}

void writeValue(uint16_t value)
{
digitalWrite(CS,LOW);//start of 12 bit data sequence
digitalWrite(CLOCK,LOW);
data = data << 2; //Add 2 0 at the end of the data. A 10-bit data word should add 2 0 at the LSB bit (sub-LSB) since the DAC input latch is 12 bits wide.(SEE TLC5615C DATASHEET)
for(int i=11; i>=0; i–)//send the 12 bit sample data
{
digitalWrite(DATA, (value & (1 << i) ) >> i );//DATA ready
delayMicroseconds(HALF_CLOCK_PERIOD);
digitalWrite(CLOCK,HIGH);//DAC get DATA at positive edge
digitalWrite(CLOCK,LOW);
}
digitalWrite(CS,HIGH);//end 12 bit data sequence
}

void loop()
{
j=567; //in here, 567 is a example. DAC OUT=j*Vref/1024
writeValue(floor(j));
}

Programming isn’t exactly my strong point, and I have no idea what might be causing the issue. Any assistance would be appreciated by this newbie :slight_smile:

It's telling you that you have not declared anything called 'data'. Guessing, I suspect you meant value instead.

I re-named the data to value and it didn't seem to help. I also capitalized data and it didn't help either. hmmm...

No where do you define data or value - is this all your code?

KeithRB:
No where do you define data or value - is this all your code?