Total noob here, followed a tutorial but getting an error message?

Hey! I was following a tutorial for a HC-SR04 Ultrasonic sensor

This one to be specific: - YouTube

I'm pretty sure I copied the code from the tutorial exactly but here it is:

#define trigPin 3
#define trigPin 2
void setup() {
// put your setup code here, to run once:
Serial.begin(9600);
pinMode(trigPin, OUTPUT);
pinMode(echoPin, INPUT);

}

void loop() {
// put your main code here, to run repeatedly:
int duration, distance;
digitalWrite(trigPin, HIGH);
delayMicroseconds(1000);
digitalWrite(trigPin, LOW);
duration = pulseIn(echoPin, HIGH);
distance = (duration/2) / 29.1;
Serial.print(distance);
Serial.print(" cm");
delay(500);
}

When I try to verify it I get the following error message:

ultrasonic_distance_sensor_basic.ino: In function 'void setup()':
ultrasonic_distance_sensor_basic.ino:7:11: error: 'echoPin' was not declared in this scope
ultrasonic_distance_sensor_basic.ino: In function 'void loop()':
ultrasonic_distance_sensor_basic.ino:17:20: error: 'echoPin' was not declared in this scope
Error compiling.

In the video the code works perfectly can someone let me know what I did wrong?

Look at the first two lines. :slight_smile:

#define trigPin 3
#define trigPin 2

Those two lines? Whats wrong with them? Thats exactly what the guy put... I'm a total beginner so I don't understand what most of this code means. I just know some basic java

In Java, what happens if you assign two different values to a variable, one after the other?

The first value gets over written

if int a = 3; then I type a = 4; a is now 4, but where am I doing that? is pinMode a variable?

nevermind I finally noticed I typed trigPin twice instead of trigPin 2 echoPin 3.... feel like I should've noticed that 20 minutes ago lol

thanks

Lemme ask it a different way. In java, can you give two variables in the same scope the same name? Could they both be trigPin in java?