tracking motion

Hello, I'd like to use a motion sensor(s) to track motion and feedback to a motor that would turn to follow the motion.

Is this easy or hard? Does anyone know of any info/tutorials for doing this?

Also should I use a servo or stepper motor?

I'm fairly new to Arduino so think I may be running before I can walk but thought I'd ask.

Thanks in advance. Steve

I think we need a little more info on this one .-)

When you say track motion, do you men just discover that someone is moving or do you mean actually tracking the direction of a person moving ?

And what about " feedback to a motor that would turn to follow the motion" is tha a motor on the floor that follows a person or a motor that sits in a fixed place and turns to follow the person ?

Hello MikMo,

I’d like the motor to stay put and turn to follow the person. It needs to follow the movement not just discover it. As an example: the motor could be inside a doll’s head and the sensor(s) attached to the side or top and the head would move to follow the motion.

Hope this makes it a bit clearer.

Cheers
Steve

If you mean a "motion sensor" like this sort of device, you're probably out of luck.

http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=8630

These can tell that something is moving in the room, but they can't tell you where the moving object is, nor what direction the moving object is moving.

The best chance of success is with a video camera, and with enough processing power to study the differences between old frames and current new frames of the input imagery.

At a minimum*, to make a doll's head track a moving object (as if looking at it), you need three sensors. We'll call them left, middle and right. You have to turn the head until the middle sensor is aligned with the target, and then if either of the left or right sensors see the target coming into view, then your program knows which way to turn the head to try to get the target back in the middle.