Turning an Arduino nano into a joystick

Hello there

We have made a joystick prototype. It is using an arduinon nano, a 2-axis analog stick and 2 buttons.

So far i'm using it with a basic serial protocol, into a vjoy feeder. (http://vjoystick.sourceforge.net/)

It's working fine but I'd like something simpler. I'm quite new to arduino, but i've seen the work of connor here to turn a leonardo into a joystick by modifiying the HID descriptor. I understand that with this i would not need vjoy, much more plug and play.

Is it possible to do so with a nano? what are the steps involved? I've merged his tweaks of usbapi.h and hid.cpp into hardware/arduino/core, but when i try to upload the sketch it seems to not see my changes (i get 'JoyState_t' does not name a type error message). What am i missing there?

thank you for any support or clue you might provide.

Hello people

I'm quite stuck on the subject, and i'd really appreciate some support...

regards

hello, look that post http://www.instructables.com/id/Arduino-LeonardoMicro-as-Game-ControllerJoystick/?ALLSTEPS , this can help you!

The Arduinos (such as Leonardo and Micro) that use the Atmega 32U4 chip have a completely different approach to implementing a USB connection compared to those using the Atmega 328 or Atmega 2560.

With the 32U4 chip the ability to pretend to be a mouse or keyboard is much easier to implement.

Solutions to your problem that are related to the 32U4 chip will not work on a Nano.

...R

Hi all, this is an old post, but as I went through it when I was looking a solution for a similar issue, here is what I do:

• I'm using linux, but I'm sure you will find the equivalent for other systems.

On arduino:

• for each pin where a button is attached to, i use pinmode(xxx,input_pull)
    On linux
  • i read the ttyUSB
  • and i use the tool xdotool

So, yes, the buttons will act as a key of a keyboard, rather than exactly a joystick, but that should be ok for old consoles emulation.

arduino: