UNO + Ethernet Shield + LCD + RGB + ESP8266?

Hi guys

new to the forum here. Absolutely loving arduino and IoT related stuff. I’m new to electronics but have a fairly strong background in programming.

I would like to ask if my current plan is feasible:

As you can see from the picture I have an UNO with an internet shield on top. I am aware that D10-D13 are used by the ethernet and that my current LCD uses like 7 pins. After hooking up an RGB to A0-A3 and a DHT22 to the other 2 analog pins that is me completely out of GPIO’s.

While this is fine with the little 16x2 LCD I would love to get a better one, perhaps a larger touch panel that seem to be real cheap on ebay… are there any decent ones that don’t require so many digital pins so I can free up some space?

oh P.S. I also want to attach an ESP8266… I think I read they consume D0-D1(tx-rx) right? so I’m safe there if that is the case

Very new to all this so any input would be extremely appreciated and I will be happy to release code to any other newbies once it is all nice and working.

Thanks!

For starters you can get an LCD with i2C backpack. It needs 2 GPIO pins viz A4 (SDA) & A5 (SCL).

If u keep adding hardware and plan on using the SD Card on the Ethernet shield as well, be prepared to start looking at a Mega for additional flash/sram memory.

Thanks for the reply.

I Went ahead and purchased a 320x240 SPI LCD. It appears to only require 5 digital IO's should should work nicely for my scenario.

I actually already have a DUE which is getting used for the main project, this uno is simply the "receiver" via ethernet / esp8266 wifi.

I will probably be back to the forum soon complaining about struggling to get the esp8266 working haha :) just waiting on some 3.3 voltage regulators coming on the slow boat so I can get that hooked up. a simple resistor setup I assume would not work to drop the tx & rx to 3.3? Still need to read up on the esp8266 to be honest so I will go ahead and do that now