Using ADXL345 3-axis accelerometer/Arduino Nano to count bounces of a pogo stick

I am working on a project for school, and I need to make a bounce counter for a pogo stick that my Capstone team (mechanical engineering) is designing for someone that is going to attempt to break the consecutive bounce record of around 300,000 bounces. I want to use an accelerometer to keep track of the changes in acceleration direction and send the number (divided by 2) to a heads up display of some sort on the pogo stick so the user doesn’t have to worry about counting while he is concentrating.

I am fairly new at programming electronics. However, I am familiar with using Matlab, and have interfaced with various optical sensors using LabVIEW. However, I want to make this system stand-alone, so I bought an Arduino Nano board so I could program the board and just fix it permanently to pogo stick to do it’s job. Some of you may tell me to just use a pedometer, but we have tried this and it does not work. I have thought about using phone apps as well, but I really want this to be part of the pogo stick itself.

Unfortunately, I don’t really have a lot of time to sit down and learn everything there is to know. I am pretty good at looking at other peoples code and deciphering what it does and then using little bits from various places to make code of my own. So, I did some research on some coding for pedometers and the like, but I couldn’t find anything I could really go off of so far.

So, if anyone finds this interesting enough to help, I would greatly appreciate it. Whether it’s personal help with code, or just posting a link to some other programs that may help me, I would greatly appreciate anything. Like I said before, I have other classes and not a lot of time to learn. Thanks!

ANOTHER CUT & PASTER HUH ?