Using an Arduino to Trigger Staging in Two Stage Model Rocket

Hey everyone, I'm completely new to the world of Arduino and programming, but am familiar with model rocketry.
I want this project to be an intro to programming through something I'm already familiar with (model rockets).

I'll be editing this post as I go to include some of the great ideas members are contributing

The Project

Basically, I will launch the rocket from the ground normally (without using the Arduino), at which point a countdown will begin. Once the countdown is up Edit: (An accelerometer will instead be used to detect burnout of the first stage). When the accelerometer detects sustained deceleration, the second stage will be ignited in midair by the Arduino, and the first stage will fall away as the second stage shoots onward.

I need the Arduino to be able to detect the launch, so I am looking at accelerometers. However, I will need to make sure that the threshold for detecting launch is not so low that the countdown begins if I accidentally bump the rocket while it's on the launch pad.

As for the actual ignition process, I will be using a model rocket electric igniter with a firing current of 120mA. It has been brought to my attention that the Arduino can't supply this much current, so I will be using either a transistor or relay to provide the current necessary to ignite the second stage.

Also, when the Arduino detects a "launch", I want an LED on the exterior of the rocket to visibly illuminate (in case anyone is near the rocket when the countdown begins).
EDIT: The Arduino will check for sustained acceleration. This way bumps while prepping the rocket on the launch pad will not be detected as a "launch".

The Rocket

I have already designed the rocket in OpenRocket... pictures!

Also, if anyone is interested in how the stages are separated, I'd be happy to explain (just didn't want to clog this up even more than I already have)

EDIT: Here is the updated version