Using an encoder as a joystick input, but the range is really small.

I'm using a Teensy 2.0 to read an encoder and output to a Windows 8 laptop as the Z axis of a USB joystick. I'm using the Windows Game Controllers Control Panel to test the results, as explained on this page: Teensyduino: Using USB Joystick with Teensy on the Arduino IDE.

My code seems to be working, in that when I turn the encoder counterclockwise, the bar in the control panel goes to the left, and when I turn the encoder clockwise, the bar in the control panel goes to the right. The problem I'm having is that I only turn the encoder about one or two detents before the bar goes all the way to the end. I was hoping to have the movement be a little slower, so that I could turn the encoder at least 180 degrees from center to get to the left side, and the same for the right side.

Thanks very much in advance for any help you might be able to provide me. I'm not very experienced with this kind of programming, and I've been doing my best to research and figure this out on my own, but I haven't been able to get past this one issue.

#include <Encoder.h>

Encoder myEnc(5, 6);
int zposition = 512;

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);
  Serial.println("Basic Encoder Test:");
  myEnc.write(0);
  Joystick.Z(zposition);
}

void loop() {
  if (myEnc.read() < -1){
    Joystick.Z(++zposition);
    myEnc.write(0);
    delay(10);
  }
  if (myEnc.read() > 1){
    Joystick.Z(--zposition);
    myEnc.write(0);
    delay(10);
  }
}

I suppose that without those delays it goes right to the ends?

What happens is if you turn 1 click to the right, your code keeps reading that, 100 times a second, and adds to the Z position even though the encoder has only turned 1 click from 0.

Why don't you only change Z position when the encoder read value changes?

GoForSmoke:
Why don't you only change Z position when the encoder read value changes?