Using Arduino as a relay

I'm looking for some guidance here. I have a project that senses DTMF tones and depending on what number is pressed there are 7 wires and that need to be connected in 12 different combinations that correlate to the 0-9 * # on the phone. The voltage on the wire is 3.3V at .27μA.

I'm a newb at this and assumed that this part would be easy. Sort of a (please forgive the ugly pseudo code): If DTMFtone = 3 connect pin7 to pin5 else do some other thing; But now I'm stumped.

Is this even doable on the Arduino? If not, any suggestions as to what I should google to get me going in the right direction?

If the plan is to make the Arduino act like a human pressing a keypad button, then that is not easy. It takes a fair bit of external circuitry.

There is probably a better way to do what you want, if you will tell us more about the project.

Hi,
google dtfm decoder

I think you assume that the DTFM tones are monotones, that is each button has one unique frequency, that is not the case, each button has two tones mixed so a simple frequency counter sketch would not be able to give you what you need.

Tom.... :slight_smile:

If it's an actual phone, you can just pass the DTMF audio to the phone, and the exchange will do the decoding for you. :slight_smile:

TomGeorge:
Hi,
google dtfm decoder

I think you assume that the DTFM tones are monotones, that is each button has one unique frequency, that is not the case, each button has two tones mixed so a simple frequency counter sketch would not be able to give you what you need.

Tom.... :slight_smile:

I am using a MT8870 DTMF tone decoder chip in this project. I tried doing the decoding in the Arduino, but it was unreliable. With the MT8870 it gets the number right every time.

jremington:
If the plan is to make the Arduino act like a human pressing a keypad button, then that is not easy. It takes a fair bit of external circuitry.