Using Arduino Ethernet Shield with Leonardo

Hi all,

sorry if the question seems to be stupid to you, but I currently can´t get the solution on my own and I am a beginner using Arduino as I come from BASCOM...thanks for understanding.

The current hardware I try to use is

• Arduino Leonardo (also tried Arduino UNO - successful)
  • Arduino Ethernet shield (W5100)

The current software:

• SAMPLE of Arduino ETHERNET -> Webserver

Now the "simple" problem:
1 When I use the Arduino Uno with the Arduino Ethernet shield, everything works fine.

2 When I use the Arduino Leonardo with the Arduino Ethernet shield, it cannot be reached, pinged or found in my LAN.

2.1 I recognized that there are some coding lines in the sample (Setup -> serial wait) which is only relevant for the Leonardo. This command is within the coding and active

2.2 I also read something about the different SPI connectors from the Arduino. Maybe this is the problem?

2,2.1 If yes - what do I have to change? Means: Which PINs do I have connect from the Leonardo to the Ethernet shield, and which PINs do I have to disconnect?

2.2.2 If not - what could be the the problem? I guess that it "should" work; otherwise the additional line in the coding wouldn´t make sense.

Thank you all with regards
Samazw

The Arduino Ethernet Shield should work on the Arduino Leonardo, but I'm getting the same symptom as you. The WebServer example works fine on an Arduino UNO (R2) but fails to be reachable by the web browser when run on a Leonardo (a clone, in my case).

I found a mention that the problem might be that the pins on the Ethernet shield are too long and the ICSP connector on the bottom of the Ethernet shield doesn't quite reach all the ICSP pins on the Leonardo. (http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=108592.0) I tried a spring clamp on the boards to force the ICSP connectors together but that didn't fix the problem. :frowning: