Using arduino inputs more reliably

I have an Arduino Nano 33 IoT and a MacBook.

Through a PS/2 connecter, I have the following wiring:

Arduino PS/2 Seat Pads

9 1 Seat1
10 2 Seat2
11 3 Seat3
13 4 Seat4
15 5 Seat5
VIN (5v) 6 Common

Whenever all of the seatpads are "open", the Arduino reads arbitrary values. Sometimes, when one seat is closed, neighboring seats are read as on (digitalRead) which I assume is because the wires are interfering with each other.

Is there a way to make the seats grounded or something so that the readings from the inputs would be reliable? I cannot alter the seat pads, so said fix would have to be within my circuit. I made PCBs, but I don't really know what I'm doing, so I may have to get them redone anyway (only 10 of them.) I am fairly new to Arduino, so constructive criticism would be appreciated.

Am I allowed to post files of my PCB on the forum, or just screen shots?

Edit:
The end goal is to use digitalInturrpts on each pin instead of digitalRead

How did you initialize the GPIO pins?

Post your complete code as requested in Read this before posting a programming question ...

From what you are describing I am assuming a seat is a switch (never read that term before). Not knowing your circuit I cannot really suggest either a pull up or pull down. When the "seats" are open that tells me you have an open line. That would explain what you are seeing. My way of doing it would be to put a pull up resistor on the switch and use ground on the other side so when the switch is closed the line to the Arduino is grounded. That will invert your logic but that is an easy fix in software. Maybe ~500 Ohm would work OK.

You need to use pullup or pulldown resistors with any switch, otherwise the voltage is undefined when the switch is open (aka "floating" input).

CMOS logic takes such low current (*) that the voltage on an input is affected by nearby wiring and leakage if not explicitly connected to some defined voltage through a resistor.