Using avrdude?

Hi Everybody,

I am quite new to Arduino and am currently using it for a new project. I had to get a new computer and forgot to save my C++ file from the old one. I was wondering if there was any way to download or recover a hex file or other type of file I could convert/decompile to C++? I know about avrdude and that seems like a viable option, however I have no idea how to use it because, as I said, I am quite new to all of this. The board I am currently using is the elegoo Arduino Mega 2560 R3 and I am using a Mac computer, although I have access to Windows if needed.

Any help, preferably quick, would be much appreciated!

Thank you so much!

Duplicate post deleted. Post once, have some patience.

Yes, you can download code out of a chip (never did it myself without using a Programmer), and attempt to dis-assemble it (go from hex to assembler) and then decompile it into C or possibly C++, but it will be very difficult to something you could proceed from.

You'll be better off re-writing it, and will undoubtably find things you can improve as you go. I always did.

Check out IDA Pro for disassembling decompiling.

So sorry about the duplicate post! I was trying to find my first post and couldn’t so I did not know if it had gone through! Apparently it did and I am so sorry about that. Either way, thank you so much for the quick response even after my rude duplicate.

Sorry to bother you again. I am pretty new at this kind of thing and I don't really have a clue how I would go about getting the .hex files from my Arduino Mega and only a slight idea of how to decompile it. Again any sort of guidance on this would be much appreciated.

Thanks so much!

TinyCan: I don't really have a clue how I would go about getting the .hex files from my Arduino Mega

Here are the instructions:

First, we’re going to do a dummy upload in the Arduino IDE in order to get it to help us generate the avrdude command used to read the program from the Arduino board: