Using C, C++ functions in Arduino IDE

Hello,
By way of introduction I am a professional electronics technician. (for many years) I am not a programmer. I do understand the very basics of programming.

My question is:
Is it possible to use C and/or C++ standard functions directly within an Arduino sketch? (MEGA2560 R3 with an Adafruit Data Logger shield)
In particular I’m interested in using “fscanf()”. I have “include <stdio.h>” and “include <SD.h>” in my sketch. It won’t work. Sketch “dumpfile.ino” does work and will dump the file to the serial monitor.
If it is possible, could you please give me a basic example of reading from the Data Logger shield?
I want to read a .csv file of floats, one float at a time for further math massaging.
If not, then not.

Thank you.
oldfox

Where is your code?

fscanf works but you have to use the correct parameters. fscanf() expects a pointer to a FILE object, while SD.open() returns a File object (C is case sensitive!).

Hey OldFox, you might want to bookmark this page: http://www.nongnu.org/avr-libc/user-manual/modules.html

And from the stdio.h page:

int fscanf ( FILE * __stream, const char * __fmt, ... )

The function fscanf performs formatted input, reading the input data from stream.

I did write a lot of code years ago and never liked fscanf() since my own I/O routines gave me much better error handling. Before I learned C (late 80's) I was already doing character-based I/O, even had a search that walked through the match list in between user keystrokes. I can tell ya that character-based input has an even bigger advantage on these RAM-challenged microcontrollers! Even at 115,200 baud there's time to do a lot between serial data arriving, even if it's just blinking lights or reading sensors.

GoForSmoke… thanks.
I have let a little bit of smoke out of parts in my lifetime. The code you show still has that ‘case sensitive’ issue. See "pylon’s’ post above.