using pulseIn, how can/should interrupts be used?

I have used the included code to read pulse length. The input to pin-7 is square waves from a multivibrator at approximately 80 pulses/ second. The code puts out readings every 1000ms.
There are two things that I need to ask about this code.
(1) Will there be any benefit to using interrupts? This code is a practice run for me, since I’m quite new at this. I understand the concept of interrupts, but I don’t know how to use them. I tried putting the pulseIn command in during the time counting procedure - “time = millis()” (as part of a while statement) but it didn’t work, so I put it before “time = millis();” . Would interrupts make it possible to do other things while the timing is proceeding?

(2) If there is no input to pin-7 before upoading to board, everything locks up, computer and all. I had a lot of problems getting things back in order after this happened. How can I prevent such a lockup?

unsigned long time;
unsigned long oldtime = 0;
int x;
int pin = 7;
unsigned long hpulse;

void setup(){
Serial.begin(9600);
pinMode(pin, INPUT);
}
void loop(){

hpulse = pulseIn(pin, HIGH,8000);

time = millis();
x = (time - oldtime);
if (x >= 997){ //OTHER PROCEDURES ADDED TIME RESULTING IN X > 1000
Serial.print("x: ");
Serial.println(x);
Serial.print("PULSE: ");
Serial.println(hpulse);

Serial.print("time: ");
Serial.println(time);
//prints time since program started
oldtime = time;
}

}

I’m using this code as a base to learn more about arduino code by
adding more code and procedures: adding an LCD, performing math procedures; things that will take more time in between pulse readings.

Thank you
P.W.