Value of an integer to be shown on LCD.

Hi, I am new to Arduino.
How can I get the value of one integer (not the letter with corresponding number from ASCII table) to be shown on LCD display? Could not find neither tutorial nor example.
Wal

http://arduino.cc/en/Reference/LiquidCrystalPrint

Is this on a standard display or a serial display?

I have never used a normal LCD display but I presume that when you would normally do something like this:

lcd.print(“hello, world!”);

you want to do something like this:

lcd.print(number, DEC);
or
lcd.print(i, DEC);

I presume someone can confirm this :wink:

Mowcius

Thank You for the answers.
This is normal display (parallel).
what is confusing, the seller advised to use a different header, not
#include <LiquidCrystal.h>
but:
#include <LCD4Bit.h>
What is the difference?
when I tried lcd.print(int);
or lcd.print(int, DEC);
on the LCD was seen a symbol (not letter or number) from ASCII table.

You can use either, the LCD4bit library uses slightly less pins as I understand it but both can be used.

Have you tried, BYTE, BIN etc to see what comes up?

Mowcius

when lcd.print(int,BYTE); I get compilation error, (probably, because of different header)
tried again lcd.print(int,DEC); as well error,
no error with: lcd.print(int); but rubbish on the display

Did you have a space inbetween int, DEC and int, BYTE?

I will take a closer look at that library if I get time. Can you use the other library instead?

Mowcius

Or, can you just convert the int to a string, and print the string?

int myInt = 47;
char myStg[10];
sprintf(myStg, "%d", myInt);
lcd.print(myStg);

Yes, I tried with and without spaces.

About conversion from integer to string:
compiler stops at the line lcd.print(myStg); with a message: invalid conversion from ‘char*’ to ‘int’.

Looking at the LCD4Bit code, it appears as though you need to use printIn to print a string. All that printIn does is print one byte at a time using print, so you could do the same thing: