variable toggle with button problem

Okay, well I guess I need some help with this code. I am just getting started with buttons, but I managed to get the input to toggle the on-board LED just fine. But I also want a boolean to toggle from true to false or false to true each time the button is pressed. I got it to kind of work, but it does not work correctly. Most of the time I have to press the normally open switch I have several times to get it to toggle the variable and turn on the appropriate LED. Sometimes for a few presses it works fine, but then it reverts back to having to press the button several times again. I was wondering if someone could look at the code below and tell me what I am doing wrong.

:~

/*

* Debounce sketch

* a switch connected to pin 2 lights the LED on pin 13

* debounce logic prevents misreading of the switch state

*/

const int inputPin = 10;        // the number of the input pin

const int ledPin = 13;         // the number of the output pin

const int debounceDelay = 10;  // milliseconds to wait until stable

boolean dir = true;
boolean newdir = false;

String sMessage = "Hello, dir = ";

// debounce returns true if the switch in the given pin is closed and stable

boolean debounce(int pin)

{

boolean state;

boolean previousState;

previousState = digitalRead(pin);          // store switch state

for(int counter=0; counter < debounceDelay; counter++)

{

delay(1);                  // wait for 1 millisecond

state = digitalRead(pin);  // read the pin

if( state != previousState)

{

counter = 0; // reset the counter if the state changes

previousState = state;  // and save the current state

}

//       if(dir == true)
//         do{dir = false;}while(dir == true);
//       else
//         do{dir = true;}while(dir == false);

}

// here when the switch state has been stable longer than the debounce period

return state;

}

void setup()

{
  Serial.begin(9600);
  pinMode(inputPin, INPUT);

pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);