What Am I Doing Wrong? 74HC595 + 7 Segment LED Displays

Hi! I'm new to Arduino and trying to build my first project but having some difficulties and I think it might be a code issue, unless I've missed something silly with the wiring.

The project is a simple button pressing game that can add up and display scores on 3x LED seven-segment displays - for showing scores of 0 to 999. You can view the code and simulation here: Button Banger - Wokwi ESP32, STM32, Arduino Simulator

I don't know what I'm doing wrong, I think it should work. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

• Pin 13 is the low true OE’ (output enable) pin, you have it floating.
  • In real life LEDs require current limiting resistors !
1 Like
  • Looks like your segments are inverted.

• A zero has the perimeter LEDs OFF when they should be ON.

• Invert the 7 segments when updating the display.

Hmm, that isn't working.

Can you elaborate on the "rules" of how to play?

And also what the display should show and what it is showing.

• What did you do with OE’ ?

Did you change something?

Sorry yes, you can run the simulation and press any of the buttons for yourself. You can only press 3 buttons and then the game ends showing the total score. It waits for 3 seconds before allowing you to press any buttons again (starting a new game).

You have not connected the 3 shift registers in a chain. They are all connected in parallel, so the 3 displays will always show the same digit, which is the last digit shifted out.

2 Likes
  • Your switch code should be looking at when a switch changes state not the switch level.

Aha! Yes the shift registers were connect in parallel, not daisy changed. I've updated the wiring now to what I think is correct but the displays are still garbled. At least they all show something different now however:

• Do you understand what this means ?
    Your switch code should be looking at when a switch changes state not the switch level.