When should you turn code into a library?

I had a general question about C. I'm wondering when it makes since for a programmer to create a library? I am a novice at best so far in C and C# and am wondering when it really makes since to turn a group of functions into a library.

1. Does this create additional overhead in Arduino code by calling a library?
  • I'll take LCD4Bit as an example. I have added additional functions in the library to do various
    display tasks. I won't always use these functions and I'm guessing calling that library adds
    the functions I don't use. Course that may show my lack of knowledge if I'm wrong.
  1. Is there a certain logical point where a few functions for a specific device should then be turned into
    a library?
  2. Does creating multiple program files make more sense than calling libraries?

I'm sure there are 50 other questions I could think of but these were definitely at the top of my list.

Thanks in advance all.

Having unused functions in a library is no more wasteful than having those same unused functions in a sketch. But yes, they will take up memory (and it's harder to just comment them out if they're hidden in another file).

I'd say you want to create a library if you're going to be using the same device / functions / files in multiple sketches. Having multiple files in the same sketch can be a good way to organize it, but once you start copying those files to other sketches, it's probably time to make a library.

Kewl, thank you for the response. That makes a lot of sense.

If a function in a library isn't called, it will not be included in the executable. This saves program memory.

If a function is in a sketch (or a standarrd .c file), it will be included even if it isn't called.

Saving space by leaving out unused functions is just one reason to use libraries.

-j

If a function in a library isn't called, it will not be included in the executable. This saves program memory.