Which way to go with my whishes

hi all,
i'm a beginner with arduino nano, made some little tasks like
switching led, writing to lcd, controling a servo an so far

my world is model railway

for this i want to control as many of controling units (like signals, railroad switches..)
by a list of flags (on,off) as possible with One Arduino (Nano), but the number of pins
for output available is limited..

I considered about using more than one Nano additionally coupling them
in a certain way.

I considered about multiplexing, but didnt understand
what i found in this forum..seems is possible with arduino ..

please tell me the simplest way to realize such a project :

• I dont need programming advices as have some experience with c and java
  • want to find documentation to understand principles
  • look for infos (links) about additional components if needed

thanks in progress

What is your native language?

Using an I2C I/O expander can significantly increase the amount of pins available.

EDIT - Another option if you already have the parts and don't want to spend money is to use another Arduino as an I/O expander using Serial. This is an idea I had a while back but haven't tested, and it may work. You will have to program two boards though.

Look for port expanders. They might use I2C or SPI...

Using multiple Nanos just to get more pins will cause more hassle that it is worth. Better to use things like I2C or SPI expanders or shift registers.

MCP23008 8 bit I2C expanders or MCP23S08 8 bit SPI expanders

MCP23017 16 bit I2C expanders or MCP23S17 16 bit SPI expanders

PCF8574 8 bit I2C expander

74HCT595 8 Bit serial in parallel out shift register.

There may be other, applicable, devices depending on what you want to drive. Like high current shift registers or specialized LED drivers. We can make recommendations for appropriate devices based on individual needs.

1 Like

thanks all for advices..at now i simply guess SDL and SDA connect to Arduino (like