Wiring multiple SPI devices

Hello,

I’m very new to Arduino and electronics so please bare with me. :slight_smile:

I have these components:

Both the ethernet module and the SD board uses the SPI bus. I understand that this means they should be connected to pin 11, 12, 13 and should have individual slave select pins.

I’m stuck at the very beginning. How can I wire these together using a breadboard?

Please see the attached image. Is this approach fundamentally wrong? If so, how can I make it work?

(Briefly about the project I’m working on: data (collected by a DHT11 sensor) will be stored on the sd card and the Arduino will respond to requests from a web interface, i.e. grab the latest sensor data or a set of data which is stored on the sd card.)

Thanks,

Peter

leno_inc:
Hello,

I'm very new to Arduino and electronics so please bare with me. :slight_smile:

I have these components:

Both the ethernet module and the SD board uses the SPI bus. I understand that this means they should be connected to pin 11, 12, 13 and should have individual slave select pins.

I'm stuck at the very beginning. How can I wire these together using a breadboard?

Please see the attached image. Is this approach fundamentally wrong? If so, how can I make it work?

(Briefly about the project I'm working on: data (collected by a DHT11 sensor) will be stored on the sd card and the Arduino will respond to requests from a web interface, i.e. grab the latest sensor data or a set of data which is stored on the sd card.)

Thanks,

Peter

looks good,
only possible problems, Bread boards usually split the power rails into 4 sections, between pin row 30 and 35 there is usually a wide gap between the power rails, this gap is insulated. Therefor no power or ground connnection. verify that the Arduino Vdd is actually present on the MicroSd Card.

Are your two modules 5v tolerant? I see you are powering them from 3.3v, but, the Arduino will drive the SPI bus and the SlaveSelect pins to 5V?

Chuck.