Yun Serial connection between Arduino and Linux

So, I am doing research with the Yun for college, and I am trying to read data in from the pins using the Arduino and then pass that to Linux so I can use python to send the data over wifi to a RPI. All solutions for this point towards the bridge connection, so I studied it and then realized that it is communicating via HTTP.

I have found plenty of tutorials for doing this on the Arduino side, but not on the linux side. How would I get python to read data in from this?

But a more important question is... Why? Why is this communicating through HTTP? This is a circuit board with the processors close together. Isn't there some way to communicate through serial that doesn't involve setting up a client on both ends? This seems so overly complicated.

Accepting HTTP connections, as shown in the Bridge tutorial, is but one facet of the Bridge library. (And probably the least useful and least efficient facet.) It is intended for accepting incoming connections from the greater network, not necessarily the local Linux processor.

The Bridge library is a collection of different classes that perform a variety of operations, all over the serial link between the two processors, and all can be used at the same time. The Bridge uses a network port paradigm, not HTTP. Using ports gives it a little more overhead, but it allows multiple simultaneous "connections" between the sketch and Linux sides.

I suggest you take a look at the Process tutorial. It does what you want, and 95% of the time it is the only part of the Bridge library that I use. The example defines Process objects that are local to a function, which run simple commands that do a little bit different f processing, return a result, and then exit.