Run Servo with Accelerometer strange problem

Hello,

I'm new to arduino, but not necessarily to programming so I'm guessing the code is written okay, just the idea might be wrong.
I am now facing a problem with my ADXL335 accelerometer, which is supposed to control a servo.

I wrote code which averages 10 values and maps that average value to the servo. Also puts the servo value out on the serial monitor.

Now the strange problem is:

Serial monitor shows perfectly averaged, non jumpy, values, even when accelerometer is moved quickly. But as soon as I plug the servo to the Arduino Uno and Digital 9 (PWM), the accelerometer values become jumpy on the serial monitor and you can see that in erratic servo movement.

Can anyone help with this issue? I have seen the ADXL335 work nicely on videos, but can't get it to work.

If you have time on your hand, you could look at my code.

Thank you!

-Phil

#include <Servo.h>

Servo myservo;

const int xPin = 0;
int val;
int xRead[10];
int i =0;
int total=0;

void setup(){

myservo.attach(9);
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop(){
//set total to zero when restarting loop:

total=0;

//loop to get 10 values and average them

for(i=0;i<10;i++){

xRead[i] = analogRead(xPin);

//throw out bad values:

//if bad value bigger than last value+20
 if(i>0){
  if(xRead[i]>xRead[i-1]+20){

xRead[i]=xRead[i-1];
    }
  }

//if bad value smaller than last value-20
  if(i>0){
  if(xRead[i]<xRead[i-1]-20){

xRead[i]=xRead[i-1];
    }
  }

total= total + xRead[i];
 }

//calculate average:

val=total/10;
 val= map(val,269,404,0,179);

//limit servo:

if(val>179){
   val=179;
 }
 if(val<0){
   val=0;
 }

Serial.println(val);

myservo.write(val);
  delay(30);

}

..you cannot power the servo from arduino, use a separate power source with enough current. Servo needs a lot of power..

Hi and thanks for your quick reply!