Sensor acts weird on 9V supply

Hello, I bought myself an arduino to play with since last week :). So I'm new to the world of Arduino.

I'm making a starter project in which you can see the temprature on an LCD. The sensor I'm using is an LM35.
The problem however is that with my USB everything is as its expected to be, but when I replace the USB supply with my 9V supply my sensor
reads 10° more then normal and de characters on my LCD are almost unreadble. I don't know what is causing this, so I hope someone can help me out :slight_smile:

Code:

#include <LiquidCrystal.h>
//Analog Input
int SensorPin = A0;
//Digital Outputs
char TempLow = 18;
char TempHigh = 23;

LiquidCrystal lcd(13, 12, 4, 5, 6, 7);
float TempC;

void setup()
{
  lcd.begin(16, 2);
}
void loop()
{
  TempC = analogRead(SensorPin);
  TempC = (TempC * (5.0 / 1024.0)) * 100;

lcd.setCursor(1,0);
  lcd.print(TempC);

if(TempC < TempLow)
  { //COLD

}
  if(TempC > TempLow && TempC <  TempHigh)
  { //GOOD

}
  if(TempC > TempHigh)
  {  //HOT

}

delay(5000);
}

You need to tell us how you wired it up.
Is the 9V going to the power jack?
Is the sensor wired up to the Vin pin or the +5V pin?

Did you find that sketch somewhere ? Please copy a link to it in your text.

You write a floating point variable to the lcd.
Is that allowed ?

Is that allowed ?

Yes

Thanks for the replies.

You need to tell us how you wired it up.
Is the 9V going to the power jack?
Is the sensor wired up to the Vin pin or the +5V pin?

The 9V adapter is connected to the power supply.
As for the sensor, if you take the flat side of the LM35 my connections are:

• Left: +5v Pin
  • Middle: A0 Pin
  • Right: GND Pin

Did you find that sketch somewhere ? Please copy a link to it in your text.

Is that allowed ?
LiquidCrystal - Arduino Reference

I Don't think its the LCD since it works when connected to USB but not when connected trough 9V adapter.

Edit:
Here's a scheme

We need to know more, and you need to test more.