12v relay problem...

Hello. I have 12v relay module. It switches when I connect it to arduino itself, but isn't enough to operate electromagnet. How to connect it to external power source and arduino to work properly? Thank you in advance.

gio12381:
I have 12v relay module.

I'm no expert, but first you should provide details of whichrelay module; there are lots of different makes, and they don't all work the same.

Hi,
You are using one of these;

Can you post a circuit diagram showing how you connected this relay please?
What model Arduino are you using?

Thanks.. Tom.... :slight_smile:

I'm using arduino uno. Connection is -- ground -> ground, vcc -> 5V, IN -> digital pin 8. I have seen posts where people had the same problem and there was a connection - VCC - power supply's +, ground -> power supply's ground and also arduino's ground. IN -> digital pin. But it works only when you connect and disconnect jumpers connected to ground or any digital pin.

You should connect:

Arduino GND - Relay GND
Arduino Out Pin - Relay In

Power supply +12V - Relay Vcc
Power supply GND - Relay GND

I thought the maximum voltage on any pin of the Ardunino Uno is Vdd+0.5V, can you really have it sitting open with 12V connected (relay off) won't it feed back through protection diodes or parasitic diodes and destroy the chip?

Besides, the relay JQC-3FF is about 70ohm so it needs 70mA which is too much for an Arduino output isn't it?

Richard1414:
I thought the maximum voltage on any pin of the Ardunino Uno is Vdd+0.5V, can you really have it sitting open with 12V connected (relay off) won't it feed back through protection diodes or parasitic diodes and destroy the chip?

Besides, the relay JQC-3FF is about 70ohm so it needs 70mA which is too much for an Arduino output isn't it?