12v to 5v and energetic saving (from motorcycle battery)

Hi all!

I'm kinda new to electronics, so I need your help to understand a thing.
I'm in the process of designing a standalone project that has to be mounted on my bike.
It will use an ATMega328, an RTC and +/- 12 LEDs.
I know that I have to drop the 12V provided by the battery to 5V. My inital idea was to use a LM7805, but I found out that with that Vin it would get very hot, so I thought I could use a second LM7809 (XV to 9V) to divide the stress. Is this a good solution?
In addition, I can't understand why I have to waste that energy that becomes heat. Isn't there any device that permits to use only the power you need?
Sorry for the probably idiot question but I'm quite ignorant on the subject.

Thank you all.

1 Like

Hi,
so when you use a linear regulator like LM7805 you drop down the voltage from for example 12V to 5V in this case and the difference of 7V must be dissipated from the chip (for example if you circuit absorb 1A your lm7805 must be dissipate 7V x 1A = 7W) via heat...you must use it with a heat dissipator because the small package of 7805 can't dissipate so much power alone(you find more information on the datasheet)..
But there is another method to reduce voltage and it consist to use a step-down converter(switching regulator) the circuit is more complicated than a linear regulator but it has a better efficiency..
you can found some chip that with external component that do this but they are in small format and you must know how to dimension the external component...but on ebay you can buy this regulator on chip with few money

12V to 5V DC-DC converters are standard components - most electronic
suppliers stock a range of devices for different output powers.

On eBay there are good deals on general purpose DC-DC converters that
have a preset multi-turn pot to set the output voltage, like this: