Convert 12V to 5V by using 7805 or using Resistor?

Hi Guys,

This is my first time to use 7805 to convert 12V to 5V. I have a few questions hope you guys can enlighten me. :slight_smile:

Attached is my 12V to 5V diagram.

My question is:

1. Do I need really need to add a diode 1N4007 between 12V and 7805?

2. Is it correct to use 470uf + 0.1uf (input) and 0.1uf + 220uf (output)? (Got this values from youtube)

3. Can I connect the 5V output to Nano's VIN?

4. Understand that the 7805 got heating issue, is there anyway to reduce the heat? As i will be seal up the circuit by using epoxy resin. I read some articles, they advised that can add a resistor between 12V and 7805 to reduce the voltage a bit??? so it can reduce the heat?

Really appreciate it if you guys can answer my questions! thank you!

1. You need that diode for 3 reasons.
  • Protect your circuit.
  • Drops about 1v, so it helps your lm7805 to dissipate less heat
  • You put a 470uf capacitor and no resistor. You need the diode or this cap will be useless as a filter.
    In short. Use it.
  1. The capacitors will work ok (if you use the diode), although 470uf and 220uf is a lot, you never know how much the energy source will oscilate. A tip, it all depends on how you will use the controller and the practice will diverge from the theory, so you will have to experiment.

2. Sorry, no idea on this one. Never powered an arduino like this, but probably it's easy to find tutorials on that.