16MHz Crystal selection for ATMega328P

Hi everyone,

I am trying to move my next Arduino project to my own designed printed circuit board using the ATMega328P. I however got a bit overwhelmed when looking for a 16MHz crystal for the ATMega328P. I am still quite new to electronics, but what I know is that Crystals allow the processor IC to count and define a cycle. However when looking on the internet I found specs like "load capacitance" "frequency tolerance" and "ESR" for which I was not sure what my ATMega328P would prefer to run on.

The data sheet of the ATMega328P does not make things much clearer for me in section 9 starting on page 36.

For now my schematic looks like this:

For the crystal I have selected: Yangxing Tech|Yangxing Tech X49SM16MSD2SC|SMD Crystal Resonators|LCSC

And for the capacitors I have selected 2 of these: FH(Guangdong Fenghua Advanced Tech)|FH(Guangdong Fenghua Advanced Tech) 0805CG220J500NT|Multilayer Ceramic Capacitors MLCC - SMD/SMT|LCSC

Will these components above work for me? Could someone clarify the specs so that I can modify my selection or make a more sensible decision in the future?

Most chrystals oscillators use small capacitors in order to oscillate properly..

was not sure what my ATMega328P would prefer to run on.

The Arduino is not very particular and will run on just about any crystal.

You should match the capacitors to the crystal you use (see the crystal data sheet), but the values are not very critical.

jremington:
The Arduino is not very particular and will run on just about any crystal.

You should match the capacitors to the crystal you use (see the crystal data sheet), but the values are not very critical.

Accidentally clicked on post instead of preview while forging my original question. See the schematic and links above :slight_smile:

Which load capacitance option did you select for the crystal?