2 or 3 LED colors on a single digital pin

I'd like to use a single 5V digital pin to control both colors of a 2 color common cathode LED. When the pin is high and on output I want the green LED lit. When it's on input the red should be lit.

Have I achieved that with this design?

And can I delete D1?

This is based on the digital pin providing a ground for Q1. I've never tried to use a pin like that before and I'm not sure it it will work.

Is it not necessary to both turn it off?

No, this is an indicator for the push button power switch. Green means the unit is operating normally.
When you hold down the power switch it triggers the program saves then lowers the pin to switch to red.
Then the user knows to release the switch which turns everything off.

Yep, you can delete D1. Risk of red LED staying partially on due to emitter being at 7.4V while base being controlled by 5V D-PIN ... I guess that's why you have R3 at a high value (1MΩ). Might need to put the emitter at 5V (VCC) and lower R3 to 10K-100K.

Isn't this okay if you don't need to turn both off? (All of this sentence is a simulator link.)

EDIT:
You can click to change digitalWrite state at simulator.

1 Like

Clamping the leak was my reasoning, the value was a guess.
Now that I think about it I can switch that to a 5V supply that's also available.

That's so much simpler :exploding_head:
Would a BS170 do the trick?

Yes it can.
Let's go breadboard.

1 Like

Ok, got it working, but the green is much brighter than the red.
If I swap the LED anodes the balance is much better, so I swapped the resistors to keep the colors in their correct spots. Is it safe to operate with the resistors swapped?

The resistance can be set as desired according to the required brightness of the LED.

Furthermore, the one LED that lights up when digitalWrite is set to LOW always consumes current.
It only goes off when digitalWrite is set to HIGH, but the current is only changed to flow through the MOSFET instead of the LED.