220 VAC dimmer, clarifying questions from a newbie

Dear fellow Arduino lovers,

I have been reading these forums with pleasure and I am so excited about how helpful you guys are! The threads on these forums are extremely helpful for a newbie like me. I have been reading much about AC dimming with the Arduino and I have come across some working examples. Though I am left with some questions that I hope you guys can help me with.

Just to clarify: I'm not an electrical engineer at all. The last physics class I had was 7-8 years ago and I only know the very basics (such as Ohm's Law, resistors, electromagnets, etc.). It would therefore be extremely helpful if you could really spell it out for me.

So the solution I have been looking at is this: Arduino Forum

I have a basic understanding how optocouplers and TRIACs work but just to make sure I will try to explain what's going on in that circuit and hopefully you can correct me where I'm wrong. I will be referring to specific parts of Fleckz' circuit so please check out this image where I have highlighted some areas:

Here is Fleckz' code:

int AC_pin = 10;           //Pin to MOC3020 - OptoTriac
byte dim = 0;              //Initial brightness level from 0 to 255, change as you like!

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);
  pinMode(AC_pin, OUTPUT);
  attachInterrupt(0, light, FALLING);//When arduino Pin 2 is FALLING from HIGH to LOW, run light procedure!
}

void light() {
  if (Serial.available()) {
    dim = Serial.read();
    if (dim < 1) {                  //Turn TRIAC completely OFF if dim is 0
      digitalWrite(AC_pin, LOW);
    }
    if (dim > 254) {                //Turn TRIAC completely ON if dim is 255
      digitalWrite(AC_pin, HIGH);
    }
  }
  if (dim > 0 && dim < 255) {      //Dimming part, if dim is not 0 and not 255
    delayMicroseconds(34*(255-dim));
    digitalWrite(AC_pin, HIGH);
    delayMicroseconds(500);
    digitalWrite(AC_pin, LOW);
  }
}

void loop() {

}